Skip to main content

Border region residents and communities

Information for residents in the NSW-Victoria border region, including critical service workers in the border region.

On this page

About the NSW-Victoria border areas

NSW has temporarily imposed border restrictions with Victoria.

Under the Public Health (COVID-19 Border Control) Order 2020, anyone who has been in Victoria in the past 14 days must not enter NSW unless:

Special arrangements are in place for border region residents. To check if you are within the border region check the border region map and address check.

Border region residents 

Residents within the border region can apply for a border region permit

Border region residents are able to travel within the border region for any reason with a current permit. Victorian border region residents do not need to comply with any Victorian Stay at Home Directions while in NSW.

If you are a border region resident who is a NSW resident

  • you must not travel to any part of Victoria that is outside of the border region or is a COVID-19 area of concern

  • if you do travel outside the border region in Victoria or to a COVID-19 area of concern your permit will no longer authorise you to enter NSW and you will need to apply for a NSW resident’s permit to re-enter NSW (requiring flight to Sydney Airport and quarantine).

If you are a border region resident who is a Victorian resident

Apply for a NSW border entry permit

How the border region is defined

To establish your eligibility as a border region resident check the border region map and address check.

Accessing the Murray River

The Murray River is within NSW. Victorians can enter the Murray River without a permit, excluding any embankment, dock, port or wharf on the Murray River that is on the northern side of the River. No one may enter the Murray River, or a vessel on the Murray River, who has within the previous 14 days been in a

Murray River vessel operators must take reasonable steps to prevent this. If it does happen then the vessel operator must take reasonable steps to ensure the person who has been in a restricted area or COVID-19 area of concern does not disembark on the northern side of the River.

These restrictions do not apply in an emergency.

Withdrawal of the Australian Defence Force from NSW/Victoria border

The Australian Defence Force (ADF) will begin a phased withdrawal from the NSW/Victoria border checkpoints starting Thursday 15 October 2020. This withdrawal is due to be completed by Friday 30 October 2020. Additional police will be deployed to border checkpoints in line with operational requirements.

NSW Police will continue to work with the ADF on hotel quarantine.

Mandatory self-isolation

If a person is required to self-isolate under the public health order, they must: 

  • go directly to their place of residence or another suitable place to stay, or
  • travel directly out of NSW.

Read about the self-isolation rules.

Mandatory quarantine

People entering NSW from Victoria, who do not have border region resident permit, and all international travellers arriving in NSW are required to enter mandatory quarantine. A quarantine accommodation fee applies.

Enforcement and penalties

Police officers at the border will have the power to refuse entry if you are not a resident of NSW and you present an unacceptable risk of transmitting COVID-19.

Police and public health officers will also be able to direct you to leave NSW if you are not a NSW resident and you are not authorised to enter NSW under the public health order.

A person found breaching the Public Health (COVID-19 Border Control) Order 2020 faces an $11,000 fine and six months in prison or both.

If you need help with reading

Get the easy read document

The easy read (easy English) version of this page has pictures to explain some ideas. You might prefer this if you have a disability or find it hard to read for any reason.
COVID-19 NSW border entry permit

Last updated: 29 September 2020

Top of page