Skip to main content

School and public holidays

Check this year's school term dates and find public holidays for 2020 and 2021.

Holiday 2020 2021
New Year's Day Wednesday 1 January 2020 Friday 1 January 2021
2Australia Day Monday 27 January 2020 Tuesday 26 January 2021
Good Friday Friday 10 April 2020 Friday 2 April 2021
Easter Saturday
(the Saturday following Good Friday)
Saturday 11 April 2020 Saturday 3 April 2021
Easter Sunday Sunday 12 April 2020 Sunday 4 April 2021
Easter Monday Monday 13 April 2020 Monday 5 April 2021
Anzac Day Saturday 25 April 2020 Sunday 25 April 2021
Queen's Birthday Monday 8 June 2020 Monday 14 June 2021
1Bank Holiday Monday 3 August 2020 Monday 2 August 2021
Labour Day Monday 5 October 2020 Monday 4 October 2021
Christmas Day Friday 25 December 2020 Saturday 25 December 2021
Boxing Day Saturday 26 December 2020 Sunday 26 December 2021
3Additional Day Monday 28 December 2020 Monday 27 December 2021
3Additional Day   Tuesday 28 December 2021

1 Applies to banks and certain financial institutions, see the Retail Trading Act 2008.
2 From 31.12.11 when Australia Day (26th of January) falls on a Saturday or a Sunday, there will be no public holiday on that day, as the following Monday will be declared a public holiday.
3 From 31.12.11 the Holiday Act provides for an extra public holiday to be added when New Year's Day, Christmas Day or Boxing Day falls on a weekend.

The Department of Education sets the term and school holiday dates for all NSW public schools.

School development days occur at the beginning of Terms 1, 2 and 3 and the last two days of the school year. Check with your school, as schools may vary some of these dates.

School speed zones operate on all notified school days, including school development days.

 

Term First Day of Term Last Day of Term
Term 1 for students
(Eastern division)
Tuesday 28 January 2020 Thursday 9 April 2020
Term 1 for students
(Western division)
Tuesday 4 February 2020 Thursday 9 April 2020
Term 2 for students
(Eastern and Western division)
Monday 27 April 2020 Friday 3 July 2020
Term 3 for students
(Eastern and Western division)
Monday 20 July 2020 Friday 25 September 2020
Term 4 for students
(Eastern and Western division)
Monday 12 October 2020 Friday 18 December 2020

Related information

Daylight saving

Daylight saving will end at 3am on Sunday, 5 April 2020 when clocks go back one hour.
Top of page